The York City Council will kick off next week with an 8 a.m. meeting to interview applicants interested in filling the council's vacant fifth seat - a job for which 21 people have volunteered.

All of the applicants are invited to Monday's public meeting at City Hall, 101 S. George St., "for the possibility of an interview," Council President Carol Hill-Evans said.

Hill-Evans said she and the other council members are still working on developing an interview process.

"There is nothing written anywhere that tells us how we're supposed to do this," she said. "We're trying to make sure that every step we take is within legal bounds and satisfies that we're doing everything - absolutely everything - in public."

The council has two weeks to appoint a fifth member. A 30-day clock started ticking Sept. 25, the day after Councilwoman Joanne Borders died following a long battle with cancer.

Selecting a replacement may require a special meeting, but that's not yet certain, Hill-Evans said.

"We're basically going to set everything in motion on Monday," she said.

Some recognizable names on the list of candidates include Adrienne Brenner, wife of former Mayor John Brenner; Larry Homsher, who co-founded the York City Republicans in 2007; David Satterlee, the dean of student affairs at HACC's York campus; Bryan Tate, vice president of philanthropy of York County Community Foundation; Franklin Williams, a member of the York City Zoning Hearing Board; and James Norman, a retired IRS agent.


Also on the list are Angela Buchanan, Elizabeth Bupp, Lewis DeLauder, Jessica Fieldhouse, John Fox, Kimberly Hunter-Hainey, Aaron Kraft, Cynthia Martin, Saralyn McClain, Jovan Riley, Michael Rupert, Shalini Singh, Dawn Smith, Nyzsa Watkins and Gayle Woodard.

City voters will ultimately decide who serves the rest of Borders' four-year term, which began in January.

The council's appointee will hold the seat throughout 2013 but will have to cede it to the winner of an election in November 2013. If the appointee wants to remain in the seat beyond 2013, he or she must win that election.

- Erin James may also be reached at