State Rep. Mike Regan, R-Carroll Township, is running unopposed at this point in his bid for a second term representing the 92nd House District.

Regan, who took office in January 2013 as predecessor Scott Perry moved on to Congress, recently announced his plans to seek another two-year term in this year's elections.

The former U.S. marshal's first-term initiatives included a bill, which moved through the Legislature and was signed into law by the governor, to increase the penalties for child luring.

Regan also served on the bipartisan House Select Committee on School Safety and Security, formed to develop ideas to improve school security across the state.

"I don't know if it's my time as a marshal or being a father of four, but I'm also looking for ways to better protect kids, and people in general," Regan said Friday.

He said welfare reform, including a proposal that would bar non-compliant sex offenders from receiving welfare assistance that recently passed the House, will be among his priorities for the next year.

He also plans to push the state to hire welfare fraud investigators, saying a single employee who costs $70,000 per year can identify more than $1 million in fraud prevention and detection.

While studies have reflected a small incidence of fraud, that's likely because there's little investigation to uncover it, Regan said.

"I'm all for people who need welfare getting it," he said, but he also wants to prevent abuse of the system.

While no other Democratic or Republican candidates have announced a run for the district, Regan said he's running as if he has an opponent.

"I'm working hard to get the message out there," he said. "There are still people in the district, after a year, who don't know me."

Regan, who identifies as a "fiscal conservative," drives his own car, pays a portion of his health care, and has voted to reduce the size of the legislature, he said.

After redistricting, the 92nd will include portions of York and Cumberland counties. In York County, it will include the following municipalities: Carroll, Fairview, Franklin, Monaghan, Newberry, Warrington and Washington townships and Dillsburg, Franklintown, Goldsboro, Lewisberry, and Wellsville. Monroe Township is the only municipality in Cumberland.

— Reach Christina Kauffman at