A hotly contested race for two spots on the Springettsbury Township board of supervisors will continue into November with at least two Republicans and one Democrat on the ballot.

Two of the victors in Tuesday's primary, Republican Kathleen Phan and Democrat Larry Crumling, are affiliated with a group that calls itself Operation Take Back Springettsbury Township.

Republican Mark Swomley, a member of the township's planning commission, will also advance.

Phan placed first in the Republican primary with 1,163 votes, followed by 1,054 votes cast for Swomley.

Crumling, the only Democrat to compete, won 680 votes.

John Bumsted and Robert Yanover were the other candidates on the Republican ballot. Neither incumbent, Mike Bowman or Don Bishop, sought re-election.

In other township elections:

Carroll Township: Pietro Picciurro led the pack in the Republican primary for two Carroll Township supervisor seats. Picciurro, with 24 percent of the vote, led a field of eight contestants.

Who else will advance is still in doubt. Unofficial results show Andy Ritter and Brian Schmick tied with 222 votes.

They'll meet David Holme, who ran unopposed for the Democrats, in the fall as they vie for two seats. The terms of supervisors Paul Walters and Nancy Livingston expire at the end of the year, and neither is seeking re-election.


Conewago Township: Incumbent Daryl Hull defeated William Gingerich in the Republican race for a lone Conewago Township supervisor seat, all but assuring he'll retain his position this fall.

Hull won the Republican primary with 54 percent of the vote, and, with no Democrat running, will likely not face competition in November.

Dover Township: Challengers Steve Parthree and Stephen Stefanowicz paced the field out of four Republicans in the Dover Township supervisor race.

Incumbents Michael Husson, with 22 percent of the vote, and Madelyn Shermeyer, with 18 percent of the vote, couldn't top Parthree's 32 percent of votes of Stefanowicz's 27 percent. No Democrat sought the two seats available.

Manchester Township: David Brosend and Rodney Keith Brandstedter won the Republican primary for two vacant Manchester Township supervisor seats.

The pair are seeking to take the seats of Larry Young and Rita D'Ottavio, as neither sought re-election.

Brosend, who has served on the township sewer authority since 2006, took 38 percent of the Republican vote, followed by Brandstedter, a Central York lacrosse coach and chief financial officer of Sentinel Holdings, at 31 percent. Michele Schanbacher, who has previously served as a township supervisor, did not advance. None of the candidates filed in the Democratic primary.

Fairview Township: The race for a single supervisors seat might go to Scott Hockenberry.

Hockenberry, a former township chief of police, 42 percent of the Republican vote, defeated incumbent William Brown and challenger David Brinton.

With no Democratic challenger on the ballot, Hockenberry could be unopposed in November.

Robert Stanley Jr. ran unopposed in seeking the remainder of a two-year term on the board.

Lower Windsor Township: Former supervisor Gerald Kellner topped retired electrical engineer Jim Hooper in the Republican primary for a Lower Windsor Township supervisor seat.

Mary Caldwell, whose term is expiring at the end of the year, did not file to seek re-election. Kellner took 56 percent of the vote; no candidate filed in the Democratic election.

Manheim Township: A two-term supervisor appears to have locked up his re-election bid. Republican Matt Muir took home 59 percent of the vote to defeat challenger David Shue, a self-employed farmer.

Because no Democrats filed, Muir might run unopposed this fall.

Monaghan Township: John Whitehouse, a member of the Monaghan Township planning commission, edged out zoning board member Brad Bock to become Republicans' nominee for a six-year term on the township's board of supervisors.

The seat is currently held by Charles Junkins, who opted not to seek re-election. No Democrats filed to seek the seat.

Whitehouse earned 166 votes to Bock's 92.

Newberry Township: Republicans voted Tuesday to move two newcomers ahead to November in a race for two six-year terms on the township's board of supervisors.

Incumbents Robert Conley and Ernie Helmick did not make the cut. Instead, voters will see the names William Toothaker and David Cantrell on the ballot in November.

Toothaker, with 369 votes, placed first in a field of seven candidates. With 354 votes, Cantrell narrowly defeated Conley for the second-place spot. Conley received 352 votes.

No Democrats filed to seek the two seats.

Peach Bottom Township: David Gemmill emerged victorious in the Republican supervisor race. Gemmill took home 64 percent of the vote over Frank Diamond III to advance to the fall election.

Gemmill will face Democrat Wes Carter, a Delta resident who ran unopposed. Supervisor John Johnson's term expires at the end of the year, but he did not file to seek re-election.

Warrington Township: Two Republicans will advance to compete in November for two six-year terms on the board of supervisors. Incumbent Robert Stoner is not among them.

Coming out on top in the Republican primary was John Dockery with 387 votes. In second place, David Calderone received 345 votes. Stoner received 108 votes.

In the race for a two-year term, George DeFrain defeated Billie Jo Lake for the Republican nomination.

West Manheim Township: A field of seven candidates was narrowed Tuesday night to four people who will compete in November for two six-year terms on the township's board of supervisors.

Republican Jeremy Ault earned the top spot with 218 votes. In second place on the Republican side was Brian Blettner, who got 184 votes.

With 79 votes each, Democrats David Barber and Andrea Reca will both advance to compete in November.