The Capital Athletic Conference officially welcomed three new members on Monday -- Christopher Newport University, Penn State Harrisburg and Southern Virginia University -- in preparation for the CAC's 24th year of championship competition.

The CAC was founded by six institutions in 1989 and began competition with the 1990-91 winter sports season. Four of those charter-member institutions -- Marymount (Va.) University, the University of Mary Washington, St. Mary's College (Md.) and York College -- are still members of the CAC.

During the next two decades, membership fluctuated between seven and nine schools. Salisbury University (1993), Wesley College (2006) and Frostburg State University (2010) were added to full membership.

The addition of Christopher Newport (Newport News, Va.), Penn State Harrisburg and Southern Virginia (Buena Vista, Va.) increases the conference's membership to an all-time high of 10 colleges and universities.

Entering its second year of a four-year transitional program for new NCAA Division III membership, Southern Virginia will not be eligible for CAC playoffs or have results included in the CAC standings for one year. Southern Virginia will be eligible to win CAC championships in its third year of NCAA provisional member status (2014-15).