Voters in West York sided with a group of candidates who say they will work to listen to residents and bring civility back to the council and its meetings.

Mary Wagner and Nick Laughman will be new faces on the council when they are sworn into office in January. Incumbents Brian Wilson and Shelley Metzler will join them.

"I'm going to give the borough back to the citizens," Laughman said amid handshakes from supporters at the polls after the results were announced. "It's now time to fulfill our promises."

Those promises include holding the line on taxes, bringing business back to the borough and encouraging home ownership, he said.

The four winners were part of a group of candidates who also included former councilman Joe Mummert, who lost in the election.

Metzler received 379 votes, Wilson had 323, Laughman had 291 and Wagner received 281, according to unofficial results.

Ousted: Councilman Tim Berkheimer, who was appointed to the council earlier this year, will not retain his seat. He was the lead proponent behind a recent decision to remove parking meters from the borough. Challenger Walt Anderson also lost the election, placing fifth among the seven candidates with 267 votes.

A last-minute write-in campaign by councilman Shane Louthian and short-time councilman Ronald "Skip" Franklin, came up short.

Louthian lost in the primary and did not actively seek re-election on Tuesday. Franklin was appointed to the council in April but was forced to resign because he didn't meet a residency requirement at the time. Berkheimer was then appointed to the seat.

Moving forward: For the past nearly two years, council meetings have been tense and riddled with outbursts from citizens and council members.

Wilson and Metzler said that'll be a thing of the past come January.

"We're going to do more for the community to make it a better community for everybody and not just a select few," Wilson said. "Come January, you'll see a totally different council. You'll see us working together."

"It's going to be the way it's supposed to be and how it was in the past," Metzler added.

Charles "Chuck" Wasko will be the new mayor of the borough. His name was the only one on the ballot after he defeated Mayor Sam Firestone in the primary.

Wasko received 402 votes, according to unofficial results. Firestone did receive a large number of write-in votes; a total of 143 write-in votes were cast in the race, but a breakdown by candidate wasn't available on election night.

- Reach Greg Gross at