Former Shrewsbury Township supervisor Paul Solomon will be back on the board after he beat out fellow former supervisor Earl Schuckman.

Solomon received 619 votes to Schuckman's 112, according to unofficial results.

But that's what Schuckman was hoping for. In an unusual move, he told voters to give their votes to Solomon in hopes of keeping write-in candidate Jim Coyle off the board.

"I told Paul if we go head-to-head, we'll split the vote," Schuckman said. "I told everyone, 'Please don't vote for me, vote for Paul Solomon.'"

The duo came up with a saying, "I took the fall for Paul," Schuckman said.

Solomon said he's honored that Schuckman "fell on his sword" for him in the election.

"It's a good feeling. I had a lot of support," Solomon said.

Schuckman, a Democrat, was serving as vice chairman of the board of supervisors when he opted not to seek election in 2009. Republican Paul Solomon ran for re-election in 2011, but was defeated in a four-way race.

Unofficial results shows votes cast 233 write-in votes.

Elsewhere ...

Carroll Township: Republicans Pietro Picciurro and Andy Ritter beat out Democrats Deana Weaver and David Holmes to secure the two open seat on the board of supervisors.

Ritter received 533 votes while Picciurro received 515, according to unofficial results. Holmes was third with 238 votes.

The terms of supervisors Paul Walters and Nancy Livingston expire at the end of the year and neither sough re-election.


Conewago Township: Daryl Hull, who won both Republican and Democrat primaries, beat Marlin Cutshall, an Independent. Hull received 563 votes, while Cutshall received 90, according to unofficial results.

Dover Township: A pair of challengers beat out incumbents for two seats on the board of supervisors.

Republicans Steve Parthree and Steve Stefanowicz defeated supervisors Michael Husson and Madelyn Shermeyer. Husson and Shermeyer lost in the Republican primary but received enough votes to land on the ballot as Democrats on Tuesday.

Parthree received 1,564 votes and Stefanowicz garnered 1,459, according to unofficial results. Husson received 827 votes while Shermeyer received 747, results show.

Fairview Township: Supervisor Robert Stanley Jr. handedly beat a challenge from former township police chief Scott Hockenberry for a two-year seat on the Fairview Township board of supervisors.

Hellam Township: Challenger Galen Weibley narrowly beat out incumbent Martin Reed for the lone open seat on the board of supervisors.

Weibley, a Republican, won with 494 votes to Democrat Reed's 470 votes, according to unofficial results.

Lower Windsor Township: Republican Donald Schock beat out Democrat Hollis Bedell for a four-year unexpired seat on the board of supervisors.

Schock received 724 votes while Bedell received 309, according to unofficial results.

Peach Bottom Township: Republican challenger David Gemmill won the lone open seat on the board of supervisors. With 344 votes, he beat Democrat Wes Carter's 285 votes, according to unofficial results.

They were running for a supervisor spot now held by John Johnson, who opted not to run for re-election.

West Manheim Township: Republicans Jeremy Ault and Brain Blettner won two open seats on the board of supervisors.

Ault received 503 votes and Blettner received 445. Democrats David Barber received 231 votes and Andrea Reca received 133 votes, according to unofficial results. The incumbents, Carl Gobrecht and Nils Parr, did not seek re-election.

- Reach Greg Gross at