Email items for this column to


---Marywood University: Eric Sprenkle, of York, was awarded the Mary Pace Medal for Excellence In Philosophy during the spring commencement ceremonies, where he received a bachelor's degree.

---Garden Club of York: Elizabeth "Betsy" Hyde Smith has been appointed president of the state Garden Club Federation. She is a member of the York club.

---Boy Scouts of America, New Birth of Freedom Council: Russell E. Horn Sr., 101, received the 2013 York Distinguished Citizen Award.

---West Virginia University: Katelyn Andrews, of York, received a Cardinal Health Scholarship in Hospital Pharmacy Practice.

---Temple University: Alexandra Snell, of York, was inducted into the National Society of Collegiate Scholars.

---Bucknell University: Christina E. Boyd, of Mount Wolf, has been inducted into Alpha Lambda Delta honor society.

---University of Richmond: Luke DiPasquale, of York, received a summer research fellowship grant.

---York College: Elizabeth Eppler, of Red Lion, was awarded an annual $4,000 scholarship by the Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

---Millersville University: Tate Gugino, of Seven Valleys, was awarded a biology scholarship.

---Rochester (N.Y.) Institute of Technology: Gretchen Raffensberger, of Dallastown, has been awarded a Nathaniel Rochester Society Scholarship.


---Girl Scouts in the Heart of Pennsylvania: Spring Grove Troop 20319 won second place in the banner design contest at the Camping Connection event in June.

---Indiana University of Pennsylvania: Victoria Moore, of Etters, and Kiersen Hoffacker, of Spring Grove, were part of a food drive that raised more than 1,000 pounds of food and more than $4,500.

---Pennsylvania College of Art & Design: Melodie Zielinski, of Windsor, and Ian Kline, of York, received Presidential Merit scholarships.

---Millersville University: Hope Slezak, of Airville, received a 2013 Hugh O'Brian Youth Fellowship Award.

---York County Literacy Council: Volunteers who recently completed a tutor training session are Chris Boyle, John Gingerich, Beverly Hopper, James Mills, Milady Nagles, Amy Reever, Sandy Rushton and Mark Sosa.


---Mansfield University: Seth Keller and Samantha Roberts, both of Dover; Justin Kruger, of Hanover; Nichole Eshleman, of Wellsville; and Dillon Mulroy, of York.


---Temple University: Alexandra Snell, of York.

---Hood College: Nathaniel Pauley, of York.

---Frostburg State University: Heather Vosburg, of York.

---Lafayette College: Adam Iscimenler, of Shrewsbury.

---University of New Hampshire: Scott Harris, of New Freedom, and Alexandra Dannehl, of York, both highest honors.

---Lafayette College: Lucy McKnight, of Felton; Zachary Alles, of Hanover; Sally Trout, of Seven Valleys; Drew Jeffrey, of Wrightsville; and Nicholas Stein, of York.

---Creighton University: Kathleen Mero, of Delta.

---Xavier University: Alex Kerstetter, of Windsor Township.

---The University of Scranton: Courtney Potteiger, of Dillsburg; Kristen Chusid, of Hanover; and Theresa Iannuzzi, of Shrewsbury.

---Gustavus Adolphus College: Caroline Olson, York.

---University of New Haven: Steven Aiello, from Wrightsville.

---Cazenovia College: Sara K. Henry, of Thomasville.

---Taylor University: Matthew Witt, of Dillsburg.

---St. Mary's College: Claire Bleecker, of Dover.

---SUNY Buffalo State: Jason Cleaver, of York.

---Wake Forest University: Catherine McCullum, of York.

---Dickinson College: Leah R. Miller, of Spring Grove, and Aaron S. Hock, of York.