Email items for this column to


---King's College: Ryan Querci received the John F. Kennedy Award for Political Science.

---Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute: Cassidy S. Layman, of Wrightsville, was awarded a National Merit Scholarship.

---Northeastern University: Laura A. Blouse, of York, was awarded a National Merit Scholarship.

---Millersville University: Susanne Deisenroth, of Red Lion, received the Edna Butler Cohen 1927 Mathematics Scholarship.

---York College: Students who spent two weeks in Kenya and Tanzania as part of a geography course are Hesham Abdelhamed, Robert Doorn and John Preis, all of York.


---King's College: Ryan Querci, of York, summa cum laude.

---Taylor University: Matthew Witt, of Dillsburg.

---Mercyhurst University: Kiera Rebert, of Hanover.

---Rochester Institute of Technology: Morgan De Luca and Jonathan Foster, both of Dillsburg.

---Slippery Rock University: Kayla McCoy, of Dover; Sarah Cadwallader, of Glen Rock; Bradley Spangler, of Manchester; Chelsea Cable, of Thomasville; and Jon Calkins, Jacob Hostler, Aubrie Luckenbaugh, Michael McCarter and Byron Thompson, all of York.


---Messiah College: Jeremy Leidhecker, of Dillsburg; Jason Roach, of Dover; and Keith Cotton (cum laude), Jennifer McCleary, Bethany Salaga and Samantha Touras.


---Mercyhurst University: Emily Slegel, of York.

---Rochester Institute of Technology: Morgan De Luca, of Dillsburg.

---Georgia Institute of Technology: Jason Kraft, of Red Lion.


---George Fox University: Vicki Scheib, of York.

---Slippery Rock University: Katy Bashline and Nathan Fry, both of York.

---Louisiana State University: Erika Christine Fauth and Victoria Leslie Martin, both of York.


---Ithaca College: Dylan Lowry, of Etters, and Elizabeth Stoltz, of York.

---Messiah College: Melanie Keagy, of York, a certificate of advance graduate studies.

---Berklee College of Music: Zachary Wheeler, of New Freedom, and John Doering, of New Park.

---Stevenson University: Kaitlin McNew and Ashton Secola, both of Glen Rock; Elizabeth Moul, of Hanover; Jessica Forbes and Jaimie Nieberlein, both of Stewartstown; and Rachel Baker, of York.


---Hood College: Nathaniel Pauley, of York.

---Rider University: Eric Thomas, of Dallastown.

---Keystone College: Katelyn M. Nace, of York.

---Hofstra University: Andrea Adolph, of Dillsburg.

---University of Hartford: Brice Werner, of York.

---University of Dayton: Erick Vonsas, of Hanover.

---Lincoln University: Jameira Keache Myers, of New Park.

---The College of St. Rose: Coby Schwartz, of Lewisberry.

---Ithaca College: Leigh Kaminek, of Etters, and Katy Newton, of York.

---University of Wisconsin-Madison: Timothy Yang, of Seven Valleys, and Robert Perina, York.

---University of Rhode Island: Ryan K. Shanaghan, of Hanover, and Abbey A. Miklitsch, of York.

---Loyola University Maryland: Paige Bradford, of Dallastown; Jamahn Lee, of Hanover; and Kathleen Hanger, of Lewisberry.

---Widener University School of Law, Harrisburg campus: Anthony Holbert, of Mount Wolf; Jessica Litke and Christopher Naylor, both of York; and Ryan Borger, of York Haven.

---University of the Sciences: Joshua Stewart, of Glen Rock; Adam Boyde and Ellen Noel, both of Hanover; Brittany Heller, of Jacobus; Joshua Paul, of Lewisberry; Gabriella Formica and Diana Miller, both of Red Lion; and Morgan Myers, of Spring Grove.

---Gettysburg College:

Commendation list: Joanna Myers, of Glen Rock; Megan Blount and Ryan McCabe, both of Hanover; Morgan Rouscher, of Mount Wolf; Taylor Flatau, of Red Lion; and Hannah Bentz, of Shrewsbury.

Honor list: Devin Geiman and Curt Gottschalk, both of New Freedom; Weston Jackson, of Spring Grove; and Taylor Bury and Stefany Laun, both of York.

---Slippery Rock University: Megan S. Baughman, of Brogue; Kayla A. McCoy and Taylor R. Shenberger, both of Dover; Jacob T. Myers, of Glenville; Ashley N. Carr, Lauren E. Reid, Kara E. Roscoe and Levi J. Sager, all of Hanover; Bradley S. Spangler, of Manchester; Brady J. Hess, of Mount Wolf; Kelly L. Dolan and Brian C. Johnson, both of New Freedom; Daniel M. Williams, of Red Lion; Elizabeth D. Smith, of Stewartstown; and Ashley V. Brehl, Michael C. McCarter, Abby N. Schon, Dylan R. Shaffer, Cassidy L. Shearer, Jennifer L. Smeltzer, Melissa L. Stewart, Samantha R. Wesler, Adam E. Zeigler and Matthew J. Zimardo, all of York.


---U.S. Army: Pvt. Tracey R. Owens, of Seven Valleys, graduated from basic combat training, Fort Jackson, Columbia, S.C.