Email items for this column to For more information, call 505-5423.


---Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute: Sarah Evans, of Dover, Timothy Snyder, of Glen Rock, and Toni Sanders, of York.

---West Chester University: Mason Gilbert, of York.

---Wilson College: Kaylee Moog, of Felton; Ashlee Yealy and Courtney Yost, both of Hanover; Brandy Holtzapple and Brittney Poff, both of Red Lion; and Lauren Burk, of York.

---Binghamton University: Rhoda A. Marsteller, of New Park, and Madeleine P. Manbeck, of York.


---Rochester Institute of Technology: Gretchen Raffensberger, of Dallastown; Emily Hoffman, of Dillsburg; Cory Hinton, of Mount Wolf; Mason Chronister and Cameron McKenzie, both of Red Lion; Skyler Armstrong, of Spring Grove; Matthew Fuller, of Stewartstown; J. Nicolas Schrading and Mark Spicer, both of York; and Justin Shellenberger, of York Haven.


---Alvernia University: Among the active club members are:

Jessica Newcomer, of Dillsburg, CURE-sader Club.

Rachel Kohlway, of Felton, Adventure and Theatre clubs.

Emily Young, of Glenville, Science Association, Student Nurses Association officer and CURE-sader Club treasurer.

Brooke Deamer, of Hanover, CURE-sader Club.


Tori Weston, of Hellam, CURE-sader Club.

Dominique Ford, of Menges Mills, Psychology Club.

Matt Pyne, of Stewartstown, Campus Activities Board and Marketing and Communication Association.

Adrienne Udzinski, of Stewartstown, Philosophy Club vice president.

Brandon Young, of Stewartstown, Student Athletic Advisory Council.

Christopher Campo, of York, Campus Activities Board.

Jennifer Mack, of York, Theatre Club.

---Millersville University: Ema Williamson, of New Freedom, won $500 for her short story, "The Glass Trumpet," in the 2012 Williams-Mystic Essay Contest.

---Wilkes University: Megan Myers of Glenville, volunteered in New Orleans, La., during Alternative Spring Break, March 2-9.

---Gettysburg College: Among those named to performance groups are Ryan McCabe, of Hanover, and Curt Gottschalk and Scott Kaliszak, both of New Freedom, all in the jazz ensemble, and Katelyn McClinton and Sarah Thomas, both of York, both in the symphony orchestra.

---Purdue University: Nickolas Upole, of Hanover, Luke Trimmer, of Lewisberry, and Jillian Zeigler, of Manchester, were named to the fall honors list.

---Alvernia University: Brendon McGirr, of York, was named a resident assistant.

---Shippensburg University: Justin Keech, of Dover, received the Smith, Elliot Kearns, and Co. Internship and Scholarship and the Clarence Schock Foundation Scholarship.

---Shippensburg University: Named to Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges are Derek Shade, of Fairview Township, Lauren Murphy, of Springettsbury Township, and Lara Graham, of York Township.

---Susquehanna University: Ellen Varner, of York, presented research at the annual Eastern Psychological Association meeting in New York City.

---Mid-Atlantic Junior Angus Classic: Hannah Grim, of Thomasville, won champion honors at the preview show.

---Indiana University of Pennsylvania: Participants in the undergraduate scholars forum on April 2 are Nick Distefano, of York, first place in the business case competition; Gabrielle Lehigh, of York, outstanding presentation award in the college of humanities and social sciences, and a team award in the environmentally conscious organization; and presenters Victoria Loch, of Etters, and Aaron Blair and Cassandra Stroman, both of Red Lion.

---Massachusetts Institute of Technology: Andrew Zmolek, of York, was awarded a 2013 National Science Foundation Fellowship Grant, which will fund his first three years of graduate school at MIT.

---Widener University: Kaitlyn Dellinger, of Wrightsville, was recently initiated into the Phi Kappa Phi all-discipline honor society.

---Lebanon Valley College: Among the new students honored on Feb. 21 for making an impact on the campus are Joshua R. Reichert and Timothy R. Monko, both of Dillsburg; Carrie O. Pfleiger, of Dover; Connor J. Smith, of Fawn Grove; Paige N. Riddle, of Mount Wolf; Aubrey E. Dietrich, of Red Lion; Sara L. Behm, Kayla E. Muff and Caden M. Myers, all of Spring Grove; Spencer H. Miller, of Thomasville; and Klayton E. Garman, Hannah E. Jones, Johnathan J. Salcedo and Emily C. Sides, all of York.


---U.S. Army Reserve: Pvt. Cory S. Magee, of Etters, graduated from basic combat training, Fort Jackson, Columbia, S.C.

---U.S. Navy: Seaman Joseph W. Brockett completed basic training, Recruit Training Command, Great Lakes, Ill.

---U.S. Navy: Seaman Recruit Tanica K. Outler, of York, completed basic training, Recruit Training Command, Great Lakes, Ill.