Email items for this column to


Troop 20960, Seven Valleys: Ann Lipinski earned a Gold Award. Her project was encouraging children to participate in the Village Library's summer reading program through crafts and activities.


James Madison University: Allyssa Rommel, of Hanover; Madeline Hankin and Tsung-Yu Wu, both of Red Lion; Lawrence Kroner, of Shrewsbury; and Renee Wilson, of York.

Lycoming College: James Tyson, of Etters; Julia Antonelli, of Hanover; Timothy Kocher, of Red Lion; Matthew Ruth, of Seven Valleys; and Daniel Pichler, of York.

Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology: Jack Chronister, of Dallastown; Bradley Pawlik, of Dillsburg; Eric Cauchon, Alexander Cauchon, Zachary Gladfelter, Michael LoPresti and Alexander Rudy, all of Dover; Gregory Jackson, Isaac Jensen, Kyle McLain and Brendan Sanders, all of Hellam; Justin Fisher, of Mount Wolf; Kelsey Gibson, of Red Lion; Ryan Weintzweig, of Stewartstown; Tyler Lighty, of Wrightsville; and Stephan Bandjough, Jonathan Boyer, Joshua Funk, Logan Herrick, Andrew Hummel, Ryan Sauder, Kyle Sipe, Kyle Taylor, Jeffrey Teal and Ronald Tucker, all of York.



Elizabethtown College: Among those inducted into Alpha Lambda Delta national honor society for first-year students are Nathan Fisher, of Dillsburg; Irene Snyder, of Dover; Kathryn Derreth, of Hanover; Sarah Fuller, of Stewartstown; Anna Downey, of Wellsville; and Morgan King, of York.

St. Joseph's University: Nicholas Szmyd, of York was inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma international business honor society.


Clarkson University: Andrew S. Toman, of York.

Cornell University: Ana Sanchez, of Etters.

Eastern Mennonite University, Lancaster campus: Nancy Hill, of East Berlin; Brenda Weller, of Red Lion; Robin Stike, of Stewartstown; Lori Hubler, of Windsor; and Nancy Boeckel, Angela Crum, Traci Evans, Lori Lehman, Maria Smith and Jamie Stiffler, all of York.

Hofstra University: Jennifer Boyle, of Dallastown, Heidi Walter, of Hanover, and Jennifer McPhail, of New Freedom.

Lycoming College: Cara Brooks and Emily DiBiase, both of Dallastown; James Tyson, of Etters; Sean Bathgate, of Hanover; Timothy Kocher, of Red Lion; Emily Rupe, of Wrightsville; Benjamin Leinaweaver and Bethany Richardson, both of York; and Rachel Duncan, of York Haven.

Mansfield University: Andrea Schuck, of Etters; Jeremy Brokos, of Felton; Erin Haafke, of Hanover; Tabitha Carter, of New Freedom; Megan Greenplate, of Red Lion; Erin Ratliff, of Spring Grove; Alexander Bertolasio, of Stewartstown; and Keri Aldinger, Brianna Burkhart, Sarah Estes, Amelia Lieberknecht and Dillon Mulroy, all of York.

Misericordia University: Emily Stokes, of Dillsburg, and Adam Deporter, of York.

Mount Aloysius College: Jesse Bortner and Brandon J. Rauhauser, both of York.

Mount St. Mary's University: Bari Boyd, of Dover; Katelyn Coleman, Shannon Kreiner, Justin Miskiel and Morgan Miskiel, all of Hanover; Leeanne Leary, of Mount Wolf; Marisa Small, of Spring Grove; William Casagrande, of Windsor; and Katherine Bittner, Kelsey Kierce, Matthew Koury, Nicole Krevetski, Michael Locondro, Jacqueline Rowan and Matthew Smith, all of York.

St. Francis University: Katelyn Owens, of Dover; Stephen Braswell, of Manchester; Sharon Bracken, of Seven Valleys; Jena Lafferty, of Stewartstown; and Daniel Myers, of York.

Springfield College: Morgan Kitzmiller, of Dover.

University of Delaware: Scott Reeder, of Dillsburg; Abby Eldredge, of Dover; Hilary Davis and Dominic Santoleri, both of Etters; Emily Bange and Christopher Carroll, both of Glen Rock; Laura Mumper and Michael Wilson, both of Lewisberry; Jennifer Owens, Julie Peeler and Jillian Silverman, all of New Freedom; Amanda Shapiro, of Red Lion; Chelsea Shockey, of Shrewsbury; Morgan Klinedinst, of Spring Grove; Jenna Naff and Jennifer Philbin, both of Stewartstown; Cortney Marshall, of Thomasville; and Emily Fritz, Hayley Harrold, Kelsie Landis, Sophia Sadock and Hannah Winand, all of York.

University of Evansville: Shannon Young, of Felton.

University of Mary Washington: Brianna M. D'Agata, of Hanover.

Wheaton College: Emma Gingrich, of Dillsburg.

Wilkes University: Dylan Smith, of Glen Rock; Karryn Crisamore, of Wellsville; Alexander George, Matthew Hadginske, Tyler Whitecomb, Youstena Zaki and Erika Zarfoss, all of York; and Sydney Stuyvesant, of York Haven.


Hofstra University: Damian Gallagher, of York.


Mansfield University: Robert Davis, of Felton, and Sarah Eline, of York.


McDaniel College: Courtney Hershey, of Codorus; Karen Feinberg and William Hopkins, both of Dillsburg; April Bastress and Julie Rang, both of Dover; Katherine Leppo, of Glenville; Lacey Anderson, Hallie Cugle, Cody Hahn, Warren Herman, Kelsey Hetrick, Laura Hoffman, William Hoffman, Christine Latimer, Cameo Lawlor, Ashlee Long, Rachel Lorenz, Jacob McCurry, Lauren Musetti, Angela Roop and Kyle Wildasin, all of Hanover; Cynthia Crimmel, Corey Graybill, Kristen Innerst and Allison Lewis, all of Spring Grove; Jennifer Ulsh, of Thomasville; and Alana Barnes, Linda Culbertson, Kristy Dennis, Audrey Ehrman, Erica Fabie and Melissa Grindle, all of York.

University of Scranton: Alisha Keller, of Mount Wolf, and Brian O'Mahony and Siobhan Osborne, both of York.

Widener University: Erin Dreisbach, of Hanover, Maggie Stauffer, of Red Lion, and Cristina Lentz and Adam Updegraff, both of York.


Widener University: Krista Antonis, of Red Lion, Elizabeth Monk, of York, and Susan Kell, of York Haven.


Millersville University: Erin Harman, of Hanover, received the Philip C. and Karen Ashkar Murley '63 Scholarship.


Albright College: Riley Metz, of Dover, participated in a summer research project in forestry management, and took part in a field study course in the Peruvian Amazon in June.

Albright College: Rebecca Stickler, of Wrightsville, received the Professor Clyde Harding Award for Outstanding Scholarship in English and Communications.

Indiana University of Pennsylvania: James Finnegan, of Hanover, participated in the annual Neighbors Helping Neighbors food drive.

Kutztown University: Joseph Favinger, of Dillsburg, and Abigail Goodling, of Dover, completed the Career Success Certificate program.

Lebanon Valley College: Among the symphony orchestra students who spent a week in May touring and performing across Ireland are Thomas E. Fallon, Lindsay N. Groft and Katelyn M. Helwig, all of Hanover; Cody C. Ruth, of Spring Grove; and Abigail L. Hudson, Logan H. Kurtek and Brittney M. Shue, all of Mansfield University: Robert Davis, of Red Lion, was named an outstanding biology student at the annual meeting of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania University Biologists at Bloomsburg University.