West York’s Brandon Kinneman will be honored at the QB Club’s awards dinner on Feb. 4.
West York's Brandon Kinneman will be honored at the QB Club's awards dinner on Feb. 4. (File photo)

After standout seasons on the baseball diamond and football field, West York High School's Brandon Kinneman will receive a $4,000 scholarship from the Quarterback Club of York.

Kinneman has won the Charles Larson Memorial Scholarship and will be honored at the QB Club's awards dinner on Monday, Feb. 4, at San Carlos Restaurant on Route 30.

Kinneman was the quarterback for the West York football team that went 13-1 this past fall and won the York-Adams League Division II title. The Bulldogs also advanced to the District 3-AAA title game. He completed 96-of-183 passes (52.5 percent) with 19 touchdowns and five interceptions.

Kinneman was also a key performer on the West York baseball team that won the PIAA State Class AAA championship last June. Kinneman was 5-3 with a 2.05 ERA as a pitcher, and hit .404 with three homers and 32 RBIs as a hitter.

Kinneman has not yet made a college choice.

South Western's Devon Ackerman is the first alternate for the Larson Scholarship. The other nominees for the Larson award were: Grant Senft, Susquehannock; Benjamin Cregger, Spring Grove; Kyle Andrews, Dallastown; Anderson Novalin, York High; James Dougherty, York Catholic; and Nathaniel Trona, Central York.

Also on Feb. 4 at the QB Club dinner, two York County female athletes will be honored with $1,000 scholarships.

Eastern York's Cassidy Layman will receive the Sandy Kranich Memorial Scholarship, while York Tech's Danielle Aikins will get the Thomas V. Chatman Jr. Memorial Scholarship.

Layman was a standout soccer player, while Aikins excelled in softball.

The scholarship awards were awarded based on achievements both on and off the field, and took into consideration athletics, academics, character and community service.

In addition, the York-Adams League Football Players of the Year will be recognized and receive their awards on Feb. 4. The players to be honored are: Central York's Marquis Fells (Division I), West York's Zack Smith and Northeastern's Daniel Adams (Co-Players of the Year in Division II) and Eastern York's Alex Cooley (Division III).

Fells' averaged 6.2 yards a carry (124 carries for 773 yards) and 22.8 yards a reception (27 catches for 615 yards). He scored 132 points. On defense, the senior recorded 76 tackles, two sacks and two interceptions.

Smith finished with 64 receptions for 1,129 yards, good for 17.6 yards per catch. He caught 15 touchdowns. Defensively, he had 37 tackles and four interceptions.

Adams rushed for 6.1 yards a carry this season. He carried the ball 242 times for 1,475 yards and scored 18 touchdowns.

Cooley finished his career with 6,015 rushing yards and 80 touchdowns, both York-Adams League records. He also broke the PIAA and District 3 records for rushing yards in a game with 500 against Hanover this season and set the York-Adams mark for rushing yards in a season with 2,845 in 2012. He closed his career with another remarkable performance: 10 touchdowns and 492 rushing yards against York Tech.

Smith and Cooley earned all-state recognition.

-- Reach Steve Heiser at sheiser@yorkdis patch.com or at 854-1575, ext. 455.