Sometimes it seems as if the stars align in the proper fashion at the proper time.

That could be said of the victory by Hanover's Tim Wagaman's on Saturday at Lincoln Speedway.

Wagaman, a former champion in Lincoln's 358 sprint class, is a rookie this season in the 410 sprints. He has struggled at times during the season. In fact, just a few weeks ago, Wagaman and car owner Dave Wilson parted ways, and Wagaman returned to his own team, with which he had won that 358 point title.

Things began to look a little better, and then everything came into place on Saturday night. But it wasn't just for Wagaman that things came into place. The event sponsors went away very happy Saturday night as well.

Saturday's show was run in honor of the Fallen Firefighters from around the area. In particular, it was run in memory of Brandon Little. Little was a teenager who lived just across the road from Lincoln Speedway. He was fatally injured in an accident while responding to a fire call a few years ago.

Little's family worked to put together extra money for the racers at Lincoln Saturday night and they also put the Fallen Firefighter colors on three race cars — one in each class that was racing at Lincoln on Saturday. For the 410 sprint ranks, the Little family chose the car of one of their son's friends. That was the No. 1* of Tim Wagaman.

It was the second year that Wagaman had carried the Fallen Firefighter colors. This time he parked them in victory lane. It was quite a victory lane celebration.



EMMR convention: The folks at the Eastern Museum of Motor Racing will play host to their annual convention this weekend at the Latimore Valley Fairgrounds.

There will be activities at the fairgrounds on Friday, Saturday and Sunday, including track time for the vintage racers on Saturday and Sunday afternoons.

The EMMR will also have a "static" display of vintage racers at Williams Grove on Friday evening and a vintage race car exhibition at Lincoln on Saturday evening.

This year's convention will honor the memory of nationally known midget racer Crocky Wright, and also both the ARDC Midget group and Williams Grove Speedway, both of which are in their 75th anniversary seasons.

On Sunday from 1 p.m. until 3 p.m., the EMMR will "roast" midget racing fan and vintage race car collector Stan Lobitz at the museum. Lobitz has long supported the EMMR with events at his catering hall in Hazleton.

Weekend racing: Williams Grove will host Twin 20s for the sprint cars on Friday evening.

The ARDC midgets will also be on the racing slate. Saturday, the Grove's Saturday Night Series includes the super sportsman racers, limited-late models and street stocks.

Trailway hosts 358 sprints, Legends, limited stocks and street stocks Friday.

The wingless midgets of ARDC make their second local stop of the weekend when they join the sprint cars at Lincoln on Saturday evening. This night will also mark the last York County Racing Club Night of the season in the area. YCRC members get a discount on grandstand admission.

Port Royal hosts the sprints, late models and econo late models Saturday, while Selinsgrove has the 358/360 sprints, late models, pro stocks and roadrunners.

Susquehanna Speedway Park will feature the limited-late models, street stocks, 305 sprints, Xtreme stocks, road warriors and minivans Saturday, and Hagerstown has the late models, late-model sportsmen, pure stocks, hobby stocks and mini stocks on its Saturday slate.

Hall of Fame driver Pobletts dies: Another of the popular drivers from the early days of local stock-car racing has died.

Maryland native Charles "Pee Wee" Pobletts died last week. Pobletts was a Maryland state champion several times in the 1950s before moving to the local circuit in the early 1960s.

Pobletts won races at Williams Grove, Lincoln and Susquehanna while racing during the era when the cars changed from the full-bodied stock cars to the "bugs." His accomplishments earned him a spot in the York County Racing Club Hall of Fame, and he was still very active with the YCRC and Eastern Museum of Motor Racing until his death.

My parents tell me that as a "toddler" Pee Wee was my first favorite driver, probably because I liked his red No. 46 bug with the lighted Pontiac Chieftan hood ornament. Pee Wee built a replica of that car, which can still be seen at area vintage race car exhibits. Pee Wee was 88.

1980: Williams Grove also hosted twin features for the sprint cars on this weekend in 1980.

The Friday show saw two 25-laps features. In the first, Smokey Snellbaker drove the Lloyd No. 56 to his ninth win of the season. In the second race, it was Van May scoring the win in Weldon Sterner's No. 69. That was May's eighth win of the season.

George Ferguson Jr. piloted his father's No. 2 to his fifth win of the season on Saturday at Lincoln, while Keith Kauffman put Bob Weikert's No. 329 in victory lane at Port Royal for his 13th win of the season.

On Sunday at Susquehanna, May was back in victory lane for his ninth win of the season.


Presented by

(Wins in parenthesis)


1. Greg Hodnett (7) 995

2. Brian Montieth (3) 639

3. Danny Dietrich (4) 625

4. Alan Krimes (2) 593

5. Lance Dewease (4) 586

6. Brent Marks (4) 512

7. Lucas Wolfe (1) 459

8. Donnie Kreitz Jr. (3) 462

9. Doug Esh (2) 436

10. Blane Heimbach (2) 401

11. Stevie Smith (4) 380

12. Rick Lafferty (1) 373

13. Gerard McIntyre Jr. (2) 341

14. Cory Haas 332

15. Jim Siegel (2) 290

16. Chad Layton (1) 282

17. Daryn Pittman (3) 250

18. Mike Erdley (1) 250

19. Mike Wagner 246

20. Ryan Smith 240

21. Robbie Kendall (1) 216

22. Austin Hogue (1) 209

23. Adam Wilt (1) 184

24. Steve Buckwalter (1) 178

25. Justin Barger (1) 170

Associated sponsors: Winters Performance, Maxim Chassis, RAACE, Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, ButlerBuilt Professional Seat Systems, Conroy Pneu-Control and Schnee Chassis.

Product sponsors: VRP Shocks, Shaver Wesmar Gear Drives, RE Enterprise, Panchos Racing Products, KSE Racing Products, Kreitz Oval Parts, Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Rod End Supply, Zemco Speed Equipment, Saldana Racing Products, Hinchman Racewear, Triple X Race Co., ATL Fuel Cells and


(Wins in parenthesis)


1. Brad McClelland (7) 759

2. Kevin Nouse (7) 695

3. Chase Dietz (4) 535

4. Chandler Leiby 453

5. Matt Campbell (2) 451

6. Dwight Leppo (1) 391

6. Niki Young (1) 391

8. Issac Sneeringer (3) 387

9. Jeff Rohrbaugh (2) 383

10. Robbie Kendall (3) 376