York County sent three students to the 20th annual Statewide Safe Driving Competition for Youth Thursday.

Bethany Spencer of York Suburban, Aniella Janosky of Dover and Samantha Christine of Northeastern made up the top three in the York/Adams Safe Driving Competition for Youth last month. As the top overall driver, Spencer won a $2,500 scholarship. Janosky and Christine tied for second, each earning $1,000 scholarships.

They came in the opposite order in the state competition: Christine placed 12th; Janosky placed 15th; and Spencer placed 19th. Twenty-five students qualified for the competition, representing 23 schools.

The event tested safety knowledge and driving skills with written and perceptual tests and a hands-on driving course. Students competed for scholarships for continuing education.

PennDOT District 8, South Central Pennsylvania Highway Safety, the Center for Traffic Safety and the Pennsylvania Motor Truck Association presented the event at the Radisson Penn Harris Hotel in Camp Hill.

First place and a $5,000 scholarship went to Tanner Coxson of West Forest High School in Forest County. Katlyn Carmo from Palmyra Area High School in Lebanon County earned second place, and a $3,000 scholarship. Peter Bartolomucci from Cornell High School in Allegheny County came in at third with a $2,000 scholarship.


-- Reach Mollie Durkin at mdurkin@yorkdispatch.com.