For the second time this season, Dallastown and South Western faced off in a boys' tennis thriller on Thursday.

On April 4, the Wildcats outlasted the Mustangs, 4-3, in a marathon match in Hanover. That outcome effectively decided the York-Adams Division I championship. Dallastown finished 8-0 in the division, while South Western took second at 7-1.

The two teams met again on Thursday at the Hershey Racquet Club in a District 3-AAA quarterfinal match. Dallastown entered as the No. 2 seed, while South Western was seeded No. 7.

The contest again went down to the wire, with Dallastown again coming up a narrow winner. This time the final score was 3-2, using the PIAA scoring format of three singles matches and two doubles matches. A player who competed in singles could not compete in doubles.

The Wildcats (14-1) now advance to the district semifinals at 1:15 p.m. Tuesday back at the Hershey Racquet Club against No. 3 seed Manheim Township (13-0). Township downed No. 6 seed Manheim Central in their quarterfinal on Thursday, 3-1.

The winner of Tuesday's match will sew up a PIAA state berth. The loser will have to win the third-place match on Wednesday to earn a state berth.

South Western's season ends at 11-3, while Manheim Central's season ends at 15-2.

In Thursday's victory over South Western, Kyle Salaga came up with a key victory at No. 2 singles, rallying to beat Quinn Meyer, 2-6, 7-6 (1), 7-5. Meyer was the York-Adams League Singles Tournament runner-up, while Salaga lost in the quarterfinal round of that same event.


Dallastown also received a singles victory at No. 3 from Payce Berridge, 6-3, 6-4, over Michael Fabrick.

York-Adams singles champion Anthony Miserendino won the No. 1 singles match for South Western, beating John Schmitt, 6-2, 7-6 (2).

The Wildcats took the No. 1 doubles match behind the team of Michael Gibbs and Dalton Childs, who defeated Jordan Heavel and Joe Harrison, 6-2, 6-3. Brett Rudisill and Ben Sentz of South Western captured the No. 2 doubles match, 6-4, 6-7 (3), 6-1, beating Nick Bailey and Nick Jones.