Thomasville's Greg Hodnett drove to a convincing victory in Sunday afternoon's season opener for sprint cars at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Hodnett earned $4,000 for his second opening-day win and 14th career checkered flag at the Snyder County oval. Hodnett drove the Trone Outdoor/Eagle Steel No. 39.

At the drop of the green flag, outside-front-row starter Mark Smith powered into the lead and was chased by pole-sitter Steve Buckwalter. Meanwhile, fourth-place starter Hodnett began to reel in the leaders in traffic.

On lap 10, Hodnett passed Buckwalter for the runner-up position and set his sites on Smith. A lap later, 20th-place starter Michael Ruttkamp lost control of his car in Turn 4 and collected race leader Smith. For the lap 12 restart, Hodnett inherited the lead with Buckwalter, fifth-place starter Fred Rahmer, seventh-place starter Pat Cannon and third-place starter Brian Montieth in tow in the top five.

However, Buckwalter and Montieth had tires go flat on the 18th circuit while racing in top-five positions. On the lap 19 restart, Hodnett opened up a straightaway lead over Rahmer, only to have it erased again on lap 22 when Davey Sammons and Jason Leffler had tires go flat.

For the final restart, Hodnett stretched his lead over Rahmer and posted a 2.7-second victory over Rahmer. Cannon, 11th-place starter Blane Heimbach, and 10th-place starter Lance Dewease completed the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 were Danny Dietrich, Rick Lafferty, T.J. Stutts, Chad Layton and Buckwalter.


MARKS WINS AT LIN COLN: Brent Marks became the third winner in as many weeks at Lincoln Speedway on Saturday afternoon.


A nice, sunny day finally greeted racers at Lincoln, and Marks drove to his first sprint-car win of the season and the sixth Lincoln win of his career. His victory in the 25-lap event was worth $3,200.

Billy Dietrich grabbed the early lead from his pole starting position and fought off numerous challenges from York's Cory Haas as Marks was working his way forward from the eighth starting spot. It was on a 17th-lap restart, that Marks slipped by Dietrich for the lead and drove on to the victory. Dewease came from the fifth starting spot to finish second, with Haas, Dietrich and Hanover's Logan Schuchart in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Alan Krimes, Danny Dietrich, Jim Siegel, Greg Hodnett and Rahmer.

In the 20-lap 358 sprint-car feature, York's Jeff Rohrbaugh led every lap from the pole position to claim his fifth 358 season opener at Lincoln in the past seven years.

Shane Hoff finished second, with Eric Tomecek in third. Ryan Wilson and Tyler Ross completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Dover's Ted Thomas Jr., Dillsburg's Brie Hershey, Niki Young, Matt Findley and Scott Fisher.