ABBOTTSTOWN - Stevie Smith won Thursday night's Kevin Gobrecht Memorial Race at Lincoln Speedway.¶ The race was part of Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek.

Smith's first victory of the season, and 24th career Lincoln victory, was worth $7,000.

"Obviously it's seven grand, but that's far from the purpose. It was the Kevin Grobrecht Memorial," Smith said after the race. "I don't think there's a driver that can stand out here that had more of a relationship with him than me. We all grew up together, we beat on each other, and this is a great night to win. ... His death was a sad time, but I think it's amazing the power he still has behind him from the fans here all these years later."

After setting fast time and drawing an eight for the feature inversion, Smith started from the eighth position and took the lead from Brent Marks at the starter's stand on the 29th lap.

But the race still wasn't over, as Marks and Alan Krimes made it three wide off the final turn.

Smith was the winner over Marks and Krimes, with Speedweek points leader Sam Hafertepe Jr. and Danny Dietrich in the top five. Hafertepe and Dietrich touched wheels battling for fourth, with Dietrich crossing the finish line backwards.

"I was able to hold off Krimes and stay in front of Brent. It was a good night. That's all there was to it," Smith said.

Rounding out the top 10 were: Brian Montieth, Fred Rahmer, Jim Siegel, York's Glenndon Forsythe and Lance Dewease.


In the Legends feature, Scott Houdeshell led all 15 laps despite constant pressure from the next three drivers. York's Bill Diehl finished second followed by Bob Stough, Scott Gobrecht and Cody Haines.


BLANEY WINS AT HAG ERSTOWN: NASCAR Sprint Cup series regular Dave Blaney drove away with the win Wednesday night in the Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek event at Hagerstown Speedway.

Blaney's win was worth $5,000.

Blaney started from the pole position, and led all 30 laps, although his lead appeared in doubt several times. Former World of Outlaws champion Danny Lasoski challenged Blaney on several occasions, including the final lap. At one point in the event, just before a caution flag on the 22nd lap, the top five cars were running in a tight pack.

In the end, Blaney scored the win over Lasoski, with Lance Dewease in third. Thomasville's Greg Hodnett and Fred Rahmer completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Hanover's Logan Schuchart, Mike Wagner, Blane Heimbach, T.J. Stutts and Sam Hafertepe Jr.

WAGNER, UMBEN HAUER VICTORIOUS AT SUSQUEHANNA: Logan Wagner won a Pennsylvania Sprint Series 20-lap feature event on Wednesday at Susquehanna Speedway Park in the eighth annual Eichelberger's U-Pull-It Super Show.

Jared Umbenhauer took the sportsman modified 20-lapper. Tyler Walton won the 600cc micro-sprint feature. New Oxford's Scott Gobrecht collected the Legends Cars main event. Don Harvey won the first sidewinder sprint car feature, with Reed Salony claiming the second feature. Matt Wallace won the Classic Cars nightcapper.

In the Pennsylvania Sprint Series feature, Scott Ellerman was second, followed by Kody Lehman, Mike Wagner II and Mark Watkins.

In the sportsman modified feature, Brett Kressley was second, followed by Paul Kline, Ryan Anderson and Craig Whitmoyer.