Penn State quarterback Matt McGloin is among the 10 semifinalists for the Burlsworth Trophy, presented to the nation's outstanding college football player who began his career as a walk-on.

The Burlsworth Trophy is presented in honor of Brandon Burlsworth, a former All-American and walk-on offensive lineman at the University of Arkansas. Burlsworth died in an automobile accident 11 days after being selected by the Indianapolis Colts as the 63rd overall pick in the 1999 NFL Draft.

The Springdale Rotary Club presents the Burlsworth Trophy. The honor was first awarded in 2010. Fans can vote for McGloin daily via the AT&T Fan Vote at

A fifth-year senior, McGloin is the only quarterback among the Burlsworth Trophy semifinalists.

A starter in 10 games prior to this season, McGloin was named the starting quarterback in June and has flourished in Coach's Bill O'Brien's offense, starting every game this year.

The former West Scranton High School standout has already broken seven school records and is on the verge of breaking additional season and career passing marks entering Saturday's season finale against Wisconsin in Beaver Stadium. Among the records he has broken is career touchdown passes (45), season completions (251), season passing yardage (3,066) and single-game completions (35).


For the season, McGloin is 251 of 409 (61.4) for 3,066 yards, with 23 touchdown passes and only five interceptions. He also is tied for the team lead with five touchdown runs. McGloin was selected Big Ten Co-Offensive Player of the Week on Monday after throwing for 395 yards, just four yards off the school record, and a career-high tying four touchdowns in Penn State's 45-22 win over Indiana.

McGloin leads the Big Ten in passing yards (279.2 ypg) by more than 40 yards per game. He also leads the conference in completions and touchdown passes and fewest interceptions among the Big Ten starting signal-callers. McGloin has thrown at least one touchdown pass in 12 consecutive regular season games, with multiple TD passes in 8 of 11 games this season.

McGloin earned his degree in journalism last May and is working on a second degree, in telecommunications.

Fans can vote for McGloin via the AT&T Fan Vote at Voting will conclude on Nov. 26 at 11:59 p.m. and the selection committee will announce the top three Burlsworth Trophy finalists on Nov. 27. Fans are limited to one vote per day and the Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of voting, and it is combined with the results from the Selection Committee.

Finalists will be honored and the winner of the 2012 Burlsworth Trophy announced Dec. 3 at a banquet in Springdale, Ark., sponsored by the Springdale Rotary Club.