Penn State All-American offensive lineman John Urschel has been named a semifinalist for the Sullivan Award, presented by the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) to America's top amateur athlete.

In addition to his playing exploits, Urschel has also earned numerous awards for his academic achievements.

First presented in 1930, the Sullivan Award honors an athlete who demonstrates the qualities of leadership, character, sportsmanship, and the ideals of amateurism. Past football recipients of the Sullivan Award include College Football Hall of Fame inductees Felix "Doc" Blanchard (Army, 1945), Arnold Tucker (Army, 1946) and Charlie Ward (Florida State, 1993), and NFF National Scholar-Athletes and William V. Campbell Trophy winners Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997), Tim Tebow (Florida, 2007) and Andrew Rodriguez (Army, 2011).

Notable past Sullivan Award recipients from sports other than football include Bruce Jenner (track & field), Shawn Johnson (gymnastics), Jackie Joyner-Kersey (athletics), Michelle Kwan (figure skating), Jessica Long (paralympian), Greg Louganis (diving), Michael Phelps (swimming), Wilma Rudolph (athletics), and Mark Spitz (swimming).

Fans can log on to the AAU website and vote for their favorite athlete from now until March 23. Three finalists will be named later in March and the winner will be announced at an awards ceremony on Friday, April 11, at the AAU National Headquarters in Orlando, Fla.