Lewisberry's Kyle Moody picked a very good time to score his very first career 410 sprint-car win.

Moody drove to victory in Saturday's Kevin Gobrecht Memorial Race during Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek at Lincoln Speedway. The big win was worth $7,000.

Moody started third, but dropped as low as fifth in the running order, before things turned his way. York's Adam Wilt led at the onset with another Yorker, Glenndon Forsythe, in second. On the 18th of 30 laps, Forsythe made hard contact with the third-turn wall, and while the cars were under red-flag conditions, Wilt suffered a flat tire.

Forsythe was uninjured and Wilt had to go to the rear of the field after changing a tire. That put Moody in front, and all he had to do over the final 12 laps of the race was hold back the charges of current USAC non-wing, sprint-car national point leader Brady Bacon to score the win.

Bacon finished second, with Ryan Smith coming on strong late in the race for third. Brian Montieth made the charge of the night, coming from the 23rd starting spot to finish fourth. Spring Grove's Tim Glatfelter completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Manchester's Austin Hogue, Brent Marks, Lance Dewease, Alan Krimes and Gerard McIntyre Jr.


After a number of second-place finishes, Bob Stough finally secured his first Lincoln Legends win in a close-fought race. In a race that saw five or six drivers challenge for the lead, Stough won over Jason Rochelle, with York's Lucas Montgomery taking third from fellow Yorker Bill Diehl on the final lap. Spring Grove's Harlon Leppo, who led several laps, finished fifth.


Dietrich takes Speedweek race at Grove: In Friday's Speedweek opener, Danny Dietrich picked up the $5,000 win at Williams Grove.

Dietrich started from the pole, but chased fellow front-row starter Rick Lafferty for the first 13 of 25 laps. Once in front, Dietrich scored the win over Montieth, with Krimes, Donnie Kreitz Jr., Thomasville's Greg Hodnett, Lafferty, Lucas Wolfe, Doug Esh, York's Cory Haas and Marks in the top 10.

On Saturday, Frankie Herr drove to victory in the 20-lap, super-sportsman feature at the Grove. Herr's win came over Rick Barr, with Russ Mitten in third. Davey Walsh and Steve Wilbur completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Lewisberry's Scott Dellinger, Dover's Chad Trout, Jay Fannasy, Steve Fannasy and Duaine Smith.

Dover's Gene Knaub won the limited-late-model feature over Dan Zechman, with Alan Sagi in third. Stoverstown's Cam Zeigler and Jake Jones completed the top five.

Craig Morgan won the street-stock feature.

Franek wins at Selinsgrove: Davey Franek won Saturday's URC 360 sprint feature at Selinsgrove.

"No Panic" bested Friday's Bedford URC winner Mark Smith for the win, with Brock Zearfoss in third. T.J. Stutts and Fairview Township's Pat Cannon completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Derek Locke, Jason Shultz, Mike Walter, Josh Weller and Robbie Stillwaggon.

On Friday at Bedford, Smith bested Curt Michael, Randy West, Franek and Weller for the win.

In Selinsgrove's late-model feature Saturday, Dave Zona was the winner over Steve Campbell, Jeff Rine, Bryan Bernheisel and Jim Yoder.

A.J. Stroup won the pro-stock feature.

Newberrytown's Covert victorious at Hagerstown: Newberrytown's Jason Covert raced to the victory in Hagerstown's Glenn Ninninger Memorial Race for the late models Saturday evening.

Covert's win was worth $2,700. Nick Dickson finished second, with Roy Deese Jr., C.S. Fitzgerald and Jamie Lathroum in the top five.

Hanover's Bobby Beard won the late-model-sportsman feature over Chad Myers, Derick Quade, Bruce Kane and Justin Weaver.

Darrin Younkers was the pure-stock winner, Gary Proctor topped the hobby stocks, Ryan Laye won the mini-stock event and Jim Crocker was the victor in the Classic Cars event.

Hanover's Sneeringer first at Trailway: Hanover's Issac Sneeringer won Friday's 358 sprint feature at Trailway for his first win of the season.

Brad McClelland finished second, with Seth Kearchner, York's Jeff Rohrbaugh and Stewartstown's Randy Whisler in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Spring Grove's Zach Eucalano, Cody Fletcher, Ashley Cappetta, Spring Grove's Dwight Leppo and Wyatt Hinkle.

Bret Conrad won the 600cc micro-sprint feature over Dwayne Gutshall, Jim Young, Shawn Seifert and David Holbrook.

Dover's Mike Goodwin was the street-stock winner, Matt Chronister won the limited-stock event and Wes Brown was the Classic Cars winner.

-- Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.