This week I'll review the area's stock-car champions to wrap up my look at the area's 2012 racing champions.

As with the open-wheel divisions, several York County drivers were among the champions.

In super-late-model competition, Jeff Rine won yet another title at Selinsgrove. For Rine, this marks his eighth Selinsgrove crown and his sixth in a row. Rine won seven times at Selinsgrove on his way to the crown.

At the other side of the spectrum, veteran racer Tim Wilson secured his first-ever Port Royal late-model crown. Wilson won twice on his way to the title.

In limited-late-model competition, Dover's Gene Knaub won his fifth consecutive Williams Grove point title. Knaub won five times at the Grove on his way to the title.

York's Carl Billet won his sixth Susquehanna limited-late-model point title. Billet won three races at Susky this year. Billet's first Susky crown came back in 1986.

Grant Adams won the Trailway/Lincoln combined point title for the limited-late models. Adams won three races at Trailway on his way to the crown.

Craig Morgan won the street-stock point title at Williams Grove this season. The title is Morgan's first at the Grove, with his most recent championship coming in 2005 at Susquehanna. Morgan won four races at the Grove.

Randy Zechman was Susquehanna's street-stock champion. Zechman won only once, but used consistency to win his second crown in three years there. The driver who interrupted Zechman's streak was his son, Dan, who was last year's champion.

Duane Watson won his third Lincoln thundercar crown this season. Watson won four times at Lincoln in 2012.

A.J. Hoffman won his third title in a row in Selinsgrove's pro-stock division. Hoffman won five races at Selinsgrove this year.

At Port Royal, the pro-stock title went to John Heane, who now owns two Port titles, with this year's coming on the strength of three wins.

York's Pat McClane was Susquehanna's Xtreme stock champion this season with four wins there, and Bob Bussey was Selinsgrove's Roadrunner king.

Scott Gobrecht won the Central Pa. Legends Series title this year. Gobrecht won just once this season, but notched 14 top fives and 24 top 10s in 28 races. Gobrecht is the brother of late sprint-car ace Kevin Gobrecht.


YORK COUNTY RACING CLUB: The York County Racing Club will be busy this week.

It starts with a general membership meeting on Wednesday evening at the club hall in Zions View, beginning at 7:30. Sprint-car driver Brent Marks will be the guest speaker. Marks won three races this season and finished second in points at Lincoln.

On Sunday, the YCRC will play host to its annual Christmas party. This event will also be held at the club hall, and starts at noon. As always, the club will provide the main course of a roast beef dinner, with each family asked to bring a covered-dish item.

There will be entertainment for the youngsters, and Santa Claus will make an appearance.

BALTIMORE INDOOR RACES: It's just one more week until Len Sammons Productions presents the first race of its three-race indoor winter racing series.

This one is the first ever at the 1st Mariner Arena in Baltimore's Inner Harbor. The Baltimore race will be held on Saturday, Dec. 8, with racing beginning at 7 p.m.

Other races in the series are set for the Dunkin Donuts Center in Providence, R.I., on Dec. 31, and Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City, N.J. on Feb 1 and Feb. 2.

The Baltimore race will feature the TQ (three-quarter) midgets and Champ karts. The TQ midgets always attract some of the top talent from the Northeast. Expected entries for Baltimore's TQ race include nationally-known asphalt modified starter Te Christopher, who has won a number of indoor races; dirt-modified star Erick Rudolph, who won last year in Atlantic City; super modified champion Mike Lichty; ARDC midget champion Tim Buckwalter; current super-modified racer and former midget champion Lou Cicconi Jr.; Williams Grove sprint-car rookie Ryan Smith; dirt late-model racer Kyle Lear; and asphalt modified standouts Jimmy Blewett and Anthony Sesely.

A field of 60 TQs are expected.

The three-race indoor series will be sponsored by Fatheadz Eyewear.

SEASON OPENERS: Some tentative opening dates for the local 2013 sprint-car season have been released, including Lincoln's traditional Ice Breaker 30 on Feb. 23.

Selinsgrove will host the sprints in an opener on Sunday March 10, Port Royal on March 16, Hagerstown's rescheduled Brawl in the Fall on March 17 and Williams Grove on March 22.

Bryan Householder covers dirt-track racing for The York Dispatch. He can be reached at