Another local racing icon has decided that the 2013 season will be his last.

Car owner and mechanic Barry Klinedinst has said that he will retire at the end of the season.

That brings to four the number of York County Hall of Famers who will call it quits at the end of the season.

Klinedinst joins sprint-car driving legends Fred Rahmer and Keith Kauffman and late-model ace Denny Bonebrake among those who have announced their retirement plans for the end of 2013.

The departures will leave a major void at the top of local win lists. Rahmer and Kauffman are the top two winners in the history of local sprint-car racing. Rahmer has 419 sprint-car wins and 99 modified wins, while Kauffman has 304 sprint-car wins, three in late models and one in a dirt-champ car. Kauffman drove his last race Saturday at the Tuscarora 50 on his home track at Port Royal. Rahmer won on Labor Day weekend at Williams Grove and still has a few shows to go this season.

Bonebrake stands second in career wins on the local late-model circuit. He has won 212 times in his career and recently turned in a strong run for a third-place finish in a limited-late-model show at Selinsgrove.

That moves us to Klinedinst, who lives in Manchester and has been fielding late models for much of the time since 1970. That year, with Zions View's Gary Snelbaker at the wheel, Klinedinst's car won nine times and claimed a Williams Grove point title. Klinedinst was with Snelbaker for many of his 74 career late-model wins and was a big part of the Eater-Starz team that Stoverstown's Bobby Goodling dominated with in the mid-1970s.


From there, Klinedinst moved back to owning his own car, first with Goodling and then several other drivers, such as sprint-car ace Steve Smith, Mount Wolf's Jeff Leiphart, Tom Myers, York Haven's Carl Billet and most recently Newberrytown's Jason Covert.

I'd have a hard time sorting out just how many races Klinedinst's cars have won, but the drivers I mentioned above have won a combined total of 382 feature events in the late models, and I'd guess Klinedinst accounts for at least half of those wins.

You can add in the fact that he took a few years off from the local circuit to prepare a NASCAR Grand National team for Jimmy Spencer.

There was also a time in the mid-to-late 1970s and early 1980s when Klinedinst built engines for a number of other teams, most notably those of Ed and Jimmy Spencer and Al Richards.

All in all, a very impressive career.

Between them, the four men account for more than 1,200 victories on the local circuit.

It's certain that there will be a huge void when next season starts.


WEEKEND SCHEDULE: A couple of big races dot the Saturday slate this weekend, but there is still Friday racing as well.

Williams Grove will play host to the sprints and 358 sprints on Friday. The 358 sprints will also complete the feature from the Billy Kimmel Memorial Night. That race was postponed after four laps because of rain. Hellam's Adrian Shaffer is leading.

The 358 sprints headline at Trailway on Friday evening. Also on the card are the 600cc micro sprints, street stocks and limited stocks.

Selinsgrove offers the Jimmy Nace Memorial for the sprint cars on Saturday evening. The big late-season event offers $12,000 to the winner. The late models are also on the program.

The super-sportsman racers have their biggest show of the season Saturday at Lincoln. The 39th annual Sportsman 100 is on tap, along with the limited-late models.

Susquehanna Speedway Park wraps up its point season on Saturday evening. On the racing card there are the limited-late models, 305 sprints, street stocks, Xtreme stocks, minivans and road warriors.

Hagerstown hosts its Small Car Nationals on Saturday. The late-model sportsmen, pure stocks, hobby stocks and mini-stocks compete, and it's all wrapped up with a demolition derby.

1968: The season was starting to wind down in 1968 by this weekend.

Again there was no Friday racing, but plenty of Saturday and Sunday events.

On Saturday at Lincoln, Bobby Brymesser drove Ken Appler's No. 77 Ford to his first win of the season, while at Selinsgrove, Mitch Smith raced to his 16th overall victory of the year. By now, Smith was the steady driver of Gary Wasson's No. 5.

At Port Royal, it was win No. 15 of the season for Lynn Paxton in the Emrich Chevy No. 1, while out at Jennerstown, Ed Lynch Sr. drove his No. 6 to his first victory of the season.

Sunday action found Williams Grove in action in the afternoon, when Bobbie Adamson drove Wilbur Hawthorn's No. 35 to his eighth victory of the year. That evening, Johnny Grum put Harry Fletcher's No. 66 in victory lane for the ninth time that season.

LAFFERTY WINS AT BRIDGEPORT: Rick Lafferty won Sunday evening's Jason Leffler Tribute Race at Bridgeport, N.J.

Lafferty collected $7,000 for his victory over Lance Dewease. Dave Blaney finished third, followed in the top 10 by Lucas Wolfe, Hanover's Logan Schuchart, Davey Sammons, Curt Michael, Kyle Reinhardt, Ryan Smith and Tyler Ross.

Bryan Householder writes about dirt-track racing for The York Dispatch. He can be reached at sports@yorkdis