Susquehanna Speedway Park will wrap up the local racing season this Saturday afternoon with the Final Showdown.

The sprint cars and 358 sprints will participate, with the sprint winner getting $10,010 for his efforts.

Track promoters Todd and Rhonda Fisher are celebrating their 10th year at the helm of the York County oval, thus the 10s in the payoff. The $10,010 total also marks the largest winner's share in the history of the oval, which opened in 1954.

Susky once raced on Thanksgiving Day with a $10,000-to-win event.

This will mark the fifth race for the sprint cars at Susky this year. All four races run thus far have seen different winners. Fred Rahmer, Chad Layton, Danny Dietrich and Donnie Kreitz Jr. have all been winners in SSP sprint action this season.

The 358 sprints have raced twice at Susky this year with Ryan Wilson and Austin Hogue taking the wins.


PITTMAN'S TITLE: When Daryn Pittman lost his World of Outlaws sprint-car ride six years ago, and took a ride on our local circuit for the 2009 racing season, there were those who felt his touring career was over.

Pittman wasn't one of those people.

He spent four years racing against the best local racers in the country, honing his skills and hoping for that elusive return to the World of Outlaws circuit. At the end of the 2012 season, Pittman got his chance to return to the road, and what a chance it was.


Former sprint-car racer, and current NASCAR star Kasey Kahne offered Pittman the ride in his Great Clips No. 9 racer for the 2013 season. Saturday night in Charlotte, Pittman proved Kahne right in his choice, when he secured the 2013 STP World of Outlaws Sprint Car Point Championship.

Pittman started the season hot, and kept up the consistency all season long to edge Donny Schatz for the point crown. Pittman won eight times on the WoO trail to Schatz's 23, but Pittman was right there all year long with top finishes, while Schatz faltered at times.

The title is Pittman's first with the Outlaws, and is well deserved.

DEWEASE'S NEW RIDE: With Greg Hodnett moving to the Heffner No. 27 for 2014, Lance Dewease was left without a ride.

Of course Dewease and Heffner had planned their parting about a month before Hodnett was hired. Still, Dewease was searching for a new ride for the 2014 season. He has found that ride now, and it's housed in York.

The longtime veteran driver will pilot the Scott and Chris Dietz No. 14 for the new season. The Dietz car has seen several drivers over the past couple of years. Most recently, Gerard McIntyre Jr. drove the No. 14 before parting ways with the team late in the 2013 season. The Dietz car hasn't raced since then, but the team is ready to go for next year.

Other drivers who have piloted the No. 14 include Brian Leppo, Kevin Nouse and Doug Dodson.

RYAN SMITH'S NEW RIDE Second-year sprint-car driver Ryan Smith took his first ride with his new team over the weekend in Charlotte.

Smith will drive the Warko No. 94 next season on the local circuit.

Smith has been a winner in many types of racing before setting his sights on the sprint-car scene. He won in micro sprints, midgets and even indoors in the TQ midgets.

A few years ago, Smith did a brief stint with Michael Heffner's brand-new team before both went in different directions. Last year Smith returned to the sprint-car circuit as a teammate to Donnie Kreitz at Williams Grove. Smith spent the 2012 season racing the second Kreitz car at the Grove. This year he stuck with the Kreitz car at the Grove, but also drove John Pinter's No. 92 at Lincoln. It was a productive season with top finishes at both tracks, but Smith still hasn't found victory lane with a sprint car.

A few weeks ago it was announced that Smith would be with a new team for the 2014 season. Last week all the plans came together, and the new team was announced and then went to Charlotte for the World Finals. Smith qualified for both races, but dropped out early to finish 25th both nights.

The Warko team had previously fielded 305 and 358 sprint cars for driver Matt Mountz. This is their first time with the 410 sprints. Mountz has announced that he will take some time off from racing.

Bryan Householder writes about dirt-track racing for The York Dispatch. He can be reached at sports@yorkdis